The England Football and McDonald’s Grassroots Awards are for people who make a positive difference. It’s to celebrate the those who put their heart and soul into the grassroots game across England; and to say a huge thank you to the incredible volunteers who inspire us all.

1min 26secs

The Bobby Moore Award:

Chosen by our national panel from across the local winners, the Bobby Moore Award honours the club, league, project, team of people or individual that has exemplified the spirit of grassroots football. This year our winner is Dr Sarah Griffiths.

The awards are split into ten different categories which anybody can nominate through the online nomination portal. County FAs select a local winner for each section from the public’s nominations. These form a shortlist for our national winners, awarded by a National Judging Panel.
This year nearly 4,000 people took the time to tell us why they wanted to nationally thank and celebrate somebody for the work they do in Grassroots Football. 
The winners get invited to a special ceremony at Wembley stadium before the Community Shield.  They are presented their trophy on the hallowed turf at half time of the match and they meet a variety of legends of the game. They are rewarded and recognised in their local area and receive a video about their work, professional photographs and imagery for their website so they can inspire more people in the Grassroots game.
Awards nominations open in March 2022.
Values and Criteria

Values & Criteria

Find out what it takes to be a Grassroots hero before you nominate yours

Find out more
England Football Accredited

England Football Accredited

Our winners come from England Football Accredited environments that fly the flag for football played in safe, respectful and inclusive environments. Find out more about our kitemark programme.

Find out more